Ruger Forum banner

Savage rifle accuracy!

17K views 25 replies 12 participants last post by  luvtofish40 
#1 ·
Hey guys, just got back from my local range and sighted in my savage model 111 rifle in 30-06. I shot 3 rounds about 3\4 inch group at 50 yards, all shots were touching, two of them were almost through the same hole. I never got a chance to sight in at 100 yards because the range was so busy. So I decided to jump out to 200 yards it was less busy on that side, once I got set up I started shooting, I was all over the board! I don't know what happened? I have had the rifle for some time and never shot it because I never had good glass! I just bought a Bushnell elite tactical scope, it's a 5x15 power. So my question is why would my groups have such a drastic change? I was shooting 3.5 to 4 inches high at 200, and roughly 2 inches right? I know trigger control has a lot to do with accuracy, and getting the correct wind reading. Any suggestions??:confused:

#7 ·
Thanks guys for the imput, after looking over the rifle I found that the rear mount was a little loose! I believe that bushnell elite series are of high quality, up in the ranks of high end Leupold and nikon rilfe scopes. The rings I have mounted are Leupold QRW quick detachable, mounted on a millett picatinny rail. With such high recoil on the rifle I should have lock tight all the screws to insure that the platform was not going to get loose. Something I have over looked! Thanks again guys!

#9 ·
Very good point! I have never owned a center fire rifle untill this one, so understanding bullet drop and POI is all new to me. I am really intrigue by the sport of long range shooting! I have shot rimfire for a long time but never over 150 yards, so this kind of info is great!:)

#10 ·
One or two things to keep in mind about trajectory: