Ruger Forum banner

IMR Hi Skor 700x for .357 ?

17K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  Mavrick 
#1 ·
Is this a decent powder (Hi-Skor 700x) for .357 magnum reloads ? I was given a free jug of it and I'm TOTALLY NEW to reloading. I figured best to ask lots of questions before using it. I have searched the internet far and wide for recipes for this powder and have only found ones for rifle loads. I am shooting a SP101 snubbie and my projectiles are 125gn Rem JSP's.
Powder is scarce in my neck of the woods and ordering online is WAY expensive (which I'm sure all of you already know), so if it can be used, I'd like to use it.
Any advice or suggestions for a powder suitable for my needs if the 700x is a bad idea ?

thanks!

#2 ·
WT, I don't load with this powder but web search finds plenty of support for its use as a handgun cartridge powder. For instance one reloading specialty site says: "IMR (Formerly Du Pont) HI-SKOR 700X - A clean-burning, double-base powder, this propellant is useful for a wide range of handgun and rifle cartridges." Go to this link for a powder equivalent table to help find a starting load and progress from there: http://www.adi-limited.com/handloaders-guide/equivalents.asp .

Good luck! JimH

#3 ·
Hello WildTurkey, Use 38 Special data for 700X. Skimming through my manuals, Hornady, Lyman and Lee all list 38 loads with this powder. Lee does list a couple 357 loads with 700X, but I only see data for the lighter weight bullets. This powder burns too fast for optimum magnum velocities. But having said that, its one of my favorites for non-magnum loads. It's very clean burning.

Lee gives a MAX load of 6.2 grains with a 125gr Jacketed bullet at 1070fps with a pressure of 36000CUP for 357 Mag.
Repeat: a MAX load of 6.2 grains w/ 125 Jacketed.
Personally, I'd start out around the mid 5.0's. Max loads for 38 Spcl are 3.3 grains.
Hope this helps. JL

#5 ·